Dad

I find with some images that it is difficult to know when to stop editing. I was after a contrasty, high key image. My RAW camera files are very flat as you would expect. So it took a fair amount of editing to get to this point.

I shot a dozen or so photos of Dad watching the boats at Manly Harbour using apertures between f1.8 and f5. It was very hard to get what I wanted in focus because of the minute depth of field. If either Dad or myself moved a centimetre between focusing and shooting, the focus would be in the wrong place.

This was the only shot which worked. The depth of field literally starts at his eyeball and ends at the corner of his eye. It isn't perfect but it was the best of the bunch.

So yes, I spent the morning with Dad. Jo had to cover the morning at work because one of the girls called in sick. When I picked Dad up, two of the nurses cornered us and gave me a list of things that Dad needs. 6 more pairs of trousers, 6 shirts, more underpants, special socks, slippers, denture glue, etc. They were quite specific about what to buy. I thought we had enough clothes there but I was reminded that sometimes they have to change several times a day. Anyway, I was thankful for their input. They also discussed some of the feedback I had given them regarding hygiene. It was a productive chat.

That changed my plans for the morning. I took Dad clothes shopping first. We got a few odd looks when we went into the change rooms together but I had no choice. He needed to try the clothes on and he couldn't do it himself.

After shopping we went down to the waterfront and got some fish and chips. I could see he was getting a bit tired, we had done quite a bit of walking. On the way back to the home he was a bit argumentative but nothing too bad. It was a good way to spend the morning.

After dropping Dad of I took Jo out shopping. She bought some new trainers and I impulse bought some golf balls. Maybe I will have a game tomorrow. On the way home we stopped at the local produce store to drop off some of Jo's late pony, Tike's, riding and grooming gear. They have appealed for horse riding gear to send down to Victoria to help people who have lost everything in the bushfires. It was a very brave thing of Jo to do because I know how much sentimental value that stuff had. I am very proud of her.

So it has been a very busy Saturday and I am now sitting down with a beer, contemplating walking the dog.

My one regret is that I didn't go fishing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.