Friends, memories

A good day with friends today. The lovely Sarah who helped me get my police clearance sorted. A bit of a wait which wasn’t so much fun. The men queuing outnumbered the women significantly, about 80  to 1, and the usual stares at the blond foreigner and unveiled Egyptian. We waited for an hour with our little piece of paper with a handwritten number. The other woman waiting and my friend suggested we go in with the next group of men, just give us priority. It eventually happened. It’s a simple affair, desktop computers with a camera and a fingerprint machine. He was flirting with you, Sarah said. Yeah, I know. I go along with it, knowing it’s not how I like to do things, knowing it works. I didn’t get the change, that was to be expected. But it’s ok, I have a way out to a better life.

We made it back to the hotel and relaxed for a while.

Dinner at the pizza place was with Mahmoud. It’s one of our favourite places to go, the pizzas are good. Then a walk around Zamalek. As we used to do.

It’s good to be back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.