Cats of Cairo

There are almost as many street cats as there are people in Cairo... this one lived at the newsagent near my hotel, and seemed very happy..

Today I had coffee with D, a former colleague and it was good to catch up. I also had coffee with someone the hotel owner introduced me to, as she was interested in doing some teaching. We got on well and will meet again. During our conversation the hotel owner came to tell us about an unfolding tragedy at the main train station. A train had crashed at the platform and many had died or were severely injured in the ensuing fire. Awful. Safety isn't at the same standard as we're used to... and as I'm backblipping I can add that the driver left the train to argue with a driver of another train. Tempers run hot here... 

A walk, and then a lazy afternoon sleeping. Dinner at Cairo kitchen for the memories, followed by chocolate cake from La Poire and a glass of red while tucked up in bed. Nice to have the freedom to drink wine..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.