Spring Is Here!!!

I have started my springtime bonsai projects as plants come out of their winter dormancy and rest.

The bonsai on the top is a Harliandi Boxwood forest.   It is the first forest I have made, totally on my own.   The trees have been growing for 18 months.  I trimmed them out, found their line, thinned, and determined their front and direction.  I found a pot I liked, and then had to figure out the wiring needed to hole 3 trees in a 2 hole pot, with all the trees being set on the right.
    Two trees have a right hand slant or curve, caused by sun seeking.  The 2nd tree is set behind the 1st to create depth.  The 3rd tree was laying over, with beautiful leaning character.  I set that tree to the left and forward a bit, creating a negative space on the left.  The trees are climbing up a hill, sort of.  I was unable to photograph the tree and get the sun on the front, so the bonsai's look to be shadowy.
      The bottom bonsai is a Chinese Elm, that I purchased in March of 2010.  I have done several styles with the tree as it has grown and changed.  Today, this tree is  3 inches tall, styled in a semi cascade.  It has flushed out this spring, had it's growth tips pinched back (to encourage small internodes) and  looking very healthy!  This tree is particularly special to me because it's one of the two trees I bought to learn this incredible hobby!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.