Wet and hungry

The weather has been miserable today as predicted. Low cloud, brisk winds and rain. I watched the birds a lot as they endured the weather conditions to get their food. So many types of bird, all having varied feeding habits.

On the ground, the blackbirds had many rivals. At one point I saw two birds feeding on the tray on the ground, who were then startled. As they flew off, so did five other birds on the adjacent grass all of whom were completely camouflaged.

This female blackbird went from place to place. From the rhus tree to the wooden fence post, onto the ground before flying up to the roof of the garden cabin. She didn't feed in any of these places, and hopped along the edge of the roof as if unsure of where to fly off to next.

I can relate to that sometimes. Today I had a bit of good news that brings to a close a part of my life, and also brings the future into stark relief. Here's to it. Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.