Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Follow the light

Used some ICM on my hike today in the forest at Devil's Fork State Park.  Every year I try to go to this park on Lake Jocassee to see the Oconee Belle flowers which are rare and only bloom for about two weeks each year.  Someone that I follow on Facebook mentioned that he saw some last week so I knew if I did not get up to the mountains this week they might be gone.  I did find many but there are areas by the creek where there are not blooms so next week will probably be the peak week for them.       This is a new boardwalk along a muddy area which was gleaming in the sunshine.  I think it looks like a river with the ICM.  The creek looked like a river also with many little waterfalls since we have had so much rain.

A few of the Belles and some other wildflowers I saw on another trail we walked.  It was strenuous...my hubby was looking at me with the evil eye and the poor dog was really wanting to go back to the car...except when she was in the creek.      But we managed to get 4 mountain miles in today which is probably like walking 10 miles here at home in the flatland.  

The weather was absolutely perfect!    Cool but sunny!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.