An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

A trip down memory lane..

It's been a busy wee day here at Chez Damnonii :-))

Lola was up and off out for her morning walk before she'd knew what had hit her as D was heading to Dunbar to play golf with pals so had to walk her earlier than usual.  I was up sharp too as the wheelchair engineer was coming to sort a few minor faults on Alan's wheelchair.  Typically he didn't appear till early afternoon.

Spent a chunk of time in the study going through the box of photographs from yesterday.  Wow, that was a bit of a trip down memory lane.  Some childhood photos of mine and David's mixed in with photos of a very young Alan and other, older family photos, some of which are before my time.  

I've actually sorted out two little bundles of photos that I plan to give to family members.  One lot for my second cousin Marilyn who lives down south, and the other lot for my aunt.  

Looking at photographs is one of my favourite things to do, and every time I do it, the same thought occurs to me and that is, no matter how breathtaking a landscape is or how spectacular a seascape, it's photos of people that stir the biggest emotions in me, especially if it's people I know and love.  

Hardly surprising I suppose as it's the memories they trigger that brings tears of laughter and of course, at times tears of sadness at the loss of someone special.

I am happy to report that todays photos brought only smiles (and some cringing :-)) and I am gratefully reminded that the next time I'm annoyed at myself for not having a stunning landscape to blip and instead posting an emergency portrait or silly family and friends shot, that in times to come, they will be the photos I will linger over and cherish.

Better get a wriggle on.  D due back from the golf and I've not even started making dinner.  Worst still, it's 7.30pm on a Friday and not even a G&T poured!  Disgraceful! 

Have a great weekend everyone :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.