Reikes small life...

By Reike

Castle Wartau

Today I met up with a friend for lunch, then brought my kid dog for history lessons to two castle ruins - she was a bit bored like a real kid as you see. One of the ruins wasn't really to be seen, a sign told us more about it (its name used to be the 'broken castle'), and that humans have been around this place already 5'000 years before our time. 

The other castle, castle Wartau, is still there. I always am amazed thinking myself into the heads of people having lived there, back in the day. We explored it within a two hours walk that had us mainly do a very nice walk through the forest. We spotted a deer, thankfully Djeili was on the lead! She played with another dog, an 11 years old girl. They played very fast chasing games! 

We also saw a bunker / fortress thing dug into the mountain. The military people had put up a 4 stars hotel sign for it ;) I really want to go in and see it. Apparently they have weapons that would have enabled it to shoot at a mountain pass leading from Austria to Switzerland - that's quite the distance!  

Philipp and I watched the beginning of the new series of 'Shetland'. I really like that series. 

Summarized: A good day. It seems very apt that this is my last day of unemployment. I will start working again on Monday, and I am freakingly happy to do so! It's going back to colleagues I love and work that I really know my way around.  

P.S.: Extra of the also fantastic morning walk added.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.