Kipsie

By Kipsie

The bulbs are in ...............

Some of you will know that I've been creating a new garden, so last week I planted the shrubs and a few herbaceous plants that I'd collected. Today I've planted corms & bulbs.  Liatris, Crocosmia, Brodiea, Acidanthera all planted and marked so that I don't double plant, Anemone corms planted as per instructions, but the bulbs were another matter. There was no planting info with them so ................ which way up to plant. Decisions, decisions. Even looking at them in the garden I was flummoxed. I'll have to Google it or wait for Monty. Gardener's World began again yesterday. I'm so pleased I planted my broad bean seed this week. As a novice allotmentee it's a bit of steep learning curve, but I have decided that this year plot 28b & plot 29b are going to be oozing produce :)
Now the other dilemma I have with the bulbs is that they came in a pack of 2, & I have always planted odd numbers, well odd numbers for all sorts, vegetables on a plate, not peas, tut!,  but potatoes, mushrooms, bits n bobs displayed in the house.  I just find odd numbers more aesthetically pleasing. How about you?

Went out to George & Jean, an elderly couple I garden for, spent 3 hours tidying up the front of their property before the rain started. They are such a lovely couple, he's 91, she is's 87. Both love their garden, Jean really knows her plants, George follows the sunshine around the property, chairs positioned in 5 hot spots :) plus a very comfy chair in the greenhouse. They live on a park home development, & there is a serious competitiveness amongst the residents. Thankfully George & Jean are not "into"  all the sharp edged immaculately manicured lawns & blingy ornaments so we get along famously. She keeps telling me to stop working and have a break, & I keep telling her she's not paying me to chat.  I asked if they liked purple sprouting broccoli. Jean said "Oh,  yes, George's dad used to grow that, we have'nt eaten it for years". I need to pick some from the allotment & drop it over to them.
Potted up some recently purchased dahlia & canna tubers, so that they will be that bit further on before I decide where I want to place them in the garden. Cleaned the greenhouse out and had a tidy up. Need to pot on the rose cuttings and make some space. Too many jobs & not enough time to do them all.
Easy dinner tonight. Pimped up an off the peg pizza. Filled the gap, but nothing like homemade.
More work outside tomorrow weather permitting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.