Podocarpus totara aurea

Golden totara discovered in the Port Hills which I see from the front of my place.

This is a special one. My Japanese friend has shaped it into living art, a huge bonsai. The mountain beech tree at the back by the bench seat is special too. I was moved to tears when I saw what Masa had drawn from this golden totara.

It doesn't fit the pot we intended it to go in and Masa will plant it for me straight into the ground. I see it from my bedroom, the street and when I'm sitting on my bench.

It's beautiful; calm, balanced, and graceful. Masa will continue to tend to it's shape and form.

It reminds me of Mum's fascination with Ikebana flower arranging she practiced for some years. It also reminds me of the black and gold Japanese coffee set Dad gave Mum for her 21st. I have it now.

Maybe in time Kei will build me another seat by the golden totara. I will name it but my Japanese is non-existent and I'll need Masa or Kei to help me.

And the large pot that isn't big enough? Well I'll just have to find another spot and another plant ;-)

Today's gratitude: For feeling fit, strong, and energetic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.