Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Peanut Butter

It’s been a weird couple of weeks in limbo, still waiting for a final funding decision at work. I was convinced we’d hear last week, but no. Maybe this coming week...

My heart is in my mouth every time an email pings into my inbox...

Meantime, my mum’s waiting for her house sale to go through, so that she can downsize and move to a nearby flat. Her offer’s been accepted. Fingers crossed that all will go smoothly.

And my dad and his partner have both been in and out of hospital and are generally ‘a bit of a worry’ for me and Goatee.

My head has simultaneously been chock-full of ‘stuff’ and strangely barren and windswept!

So, this evening, I decided to put my dancing shoes on for the first time since my hip surgery (it’s now been 6 months, can you believe?) and head over to the beautifully appointed Ullet Road Unitarian Church Hall to join some of my book club pals at a fundraising ceilidh for Family Refugee Support. There was a great atmosphere and it did me good to get out and strip a rather ramshackle willow!

This woman is not a book club member but, being something of a peanut butter aficionado, I was rather taken with her sweatshirt!

Thinking of references to peanut butter in popular song immediately brought to mind the Talking Heads classic ‘Life During Wartime’. Do check out this fabulous performance from the much-lauded concert film ‘Stop Making Sense’, directed by Jonathan Demme https://youtube.com/watch?v=OVHNwBbkSj4

I’ve added a few Extras too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.