Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Rock On, Danny.

I’ve been really affected today by news of the death of Danny Kustow, genius guitarist with the Tom Robinson Band.

I’ve written here before about how important Tom Robinson was to me as an adolescent. But I’d like to take this opportunity to say how crucial Danny’s contribution to TRB was. His look, his attitude, but most of all his musicianship. He could give it plenty of punky aggression, passion and power-chordage but he balanced that with melodic lines and sublime guitar solos which never outstayed their welcome or became too pretentious. Many is the hour I’ve spent playing air guitar along to his work. And I shall continue to do so!

I’ve donned my TRB t-shirt in tribute and am listening tonight to songs such as ‘Ain’t Gonna Take It’ https://youtube.com/watch?v=0vamTsvErd4 which Danny co-wrote with Tom.

And, for a glimpse of Danny in blistering live action, here are TRB with ‘Up Against The Wall’ https://youtube.com/watch?v=EXWR1sYDgGk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.