Strange Days

Another enjoyable day at the professional development workshop, followed by a four hour walk around the shore of I.F.E.Z. Nice to watch the sun set beside the bridge to Incheon Airport.

We are now at No.17 in my Sony Walkman Countdown. As you may have guessed from the title, today’s artists are The Doors with 32 songs. I was quite enamoured of Jim Morrison when I was a teenager, but after reading Danny Sugarman’s biography of Jim Morrison, I became less enamoured of Jim Morrison and more respectful of the other band members. As far as I can tell, Morrison was an ego-centric, macho, misogynistic narcissist. Without the band to keep him in line, he could never have become successful. Much like Freddy Mercury with Queen; the band needed their charismatic front man as much as he needed their down-to-earth common sense. I still think Morrison was a magnificent poet lyricist and performer, though, and The Doors music still reaches sublime heights of wizardry even today.

Strange Days

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.