The second half of life..

By twigs

Lost in the 50's

A slow day......v-e-r-y slow.  I don't want to leave!

Spent some time at Lake Tekapo whose water levels are still very low.  What I'm not sure I understnd is that if global warming is melting our glaciers and the glaciers feed these lakes, why aren't the lakes water levels rising?  Evaporation maybe?  That's an awful lot of evaporation and given the volume of ice that has been melted, I'm not sure that would be the whole answer.  Still - the fact remains - for whatever reasons, the lake levels are very low.  It didn't make the lakes any less attractive though which I like :)

Tootled through Tekapo and stopped a their super-duper new - big! - 4Square supermarket which is several steps up from the old one which the town had clearly outgrown.  Then tootled past the Church of the Good Shepherd which has now been so heavily landscaped, neatened and tidied that it's pretty much lost its rugged, earthy core attractiveness.  The price of thousands of pairs of feet a year trampling the earth surrounding the tiny church I guess.  Where to then?  I knew each kilometre along the road would be taking me away from this spectacular countryside so I drove slowly.......and past this quirky wee spot.

Opted for a stop over spot well off the beaten track at a place called Lake Opuha, a few kms out of Fairlie.  Pleasant, flat-ish, a few people around for some weekend fun, a lake (water level also very low)..........nice......just nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.