NellieD

By NellieD

Meet the librarians!

So after a morning of rain, snow, sun, rain, hail then more rain, I nipped to the library to return my book.

I understand the need for advances in technology but I'm afraid automated boxes shouldn't replace the work of a librarian. Perhaps I'm biased as a book club organiser and the fact that I did 3 weeks work experience in this particular library when I was at school.

When I spotted April's book club book on the shelf, but realised I didn't have my library card with me, the box wasn't able to do anything at all to help me.

Use your library before it disappears!

Quote for today:
A library is not just a reference service: it is a place for the vulnerable.
From the elderly gentleman whose only remaining human interaction is with library staff, to the isolated young mother who relishes the support and friendship that grows from a baby rhyme time session, to a slow moving 30-something woman collecting her CD's.
Libraries are a haven in a world where community services are being ground down to nothing.
Libraries are vital. Their worth cannot be measured in books alone.
- Angela Clarke

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.