AWESOME Birthday!!

Last year for my birthday I was here with my friends in Sweden and I had such a wonderful day I decided I would come back again this year! Alice and her mum sure know how to spoil me! The day started with them singing Happy Birthday to me - both the English version and the Swedish version. I was presented with a tray with presents, cards, a small cake with a candle, and even balloons. Awesome!

After breakfast we went for a quick walkies and then came back to watch more skiing - today was the 30km ladies cross-country race from Oslo, accompanied by coffee and the birthday cake that was saved from my early morning present opening. It is traditional in Sweden to eat waffles while watching skiing - so of course we had to make some, though we waited until after the race so we didn’t miss anything! Awesome!

It was a gloriously sunny but cold day (there was even a dusting of snow first thing this morning) and so we went on another much longer walk this afternoon, through the nature reserve. There was LOTS of rock jumping by a certain small black poodle and she earned herself lots of treats. Awesome!

Speaking of treats - Elisabet had another one planned - there was a free classical concert at Linköping Cathedral this evening so we went downtown and attended that - it was a rather British theme (just for me?) - choral pieces by Britten and an organ piece by Elgar. The hour-long concert was extremely enjoyable - Awesome, actually!

Once home we assembled a home-made pizza for dinner with a white sauce, 4 cheeses, kale and asparagus and even 2 eggs on top. Awesome!

What a day!! Just the best! Awesome!

Read Alice’s blip here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.