Birthday In Isolation

I still have my virus - thankfully I have no fever so I’m pretty sure it’s not the Coronavirus. The chief medical officer said yesterday that they’ll soon be asking anyone with ANY respiratory virus to also self-isolate for 7 days. I had already decided to do so - as much as possible. I just don’t want ANYONE to get sick!

Today was also my birthday! And even though I’ve been mostly alone it’s been a great day! I’ve had cards, lots of Facebook messages and three FaceTime calls - two from my friends in Sweden and one from my sister. In both cases I had packages that they’d posted and so I got to open lovely presents during the video calls!

I did do two very quick errands, the only cheat in my self-isolation. I had done an online food shop from Sainsbury’s but I couldn’t wait til tomorrow for home delivery so I chose the click and collect option and went to pick it up. Then I went to the egg farm - no contact with a human being as you drop off the money when you pick up the eggs. There are ducks as well as hens, hence the duck crossing sign behind the beautiful daffodils. You can just see the ducks behind.

I treated myself to birthday cake ice cream! I’d never heard of it until I did a search for ‘birthday cake’. I thought I’d enjoy that way more than cake and I did! I even gave myself a candle to blow out! This evening my Swedish friends and I did the ‘virtual cinema’ and watched a wonderful dog movie on Netflix.

The only sad news was from my friend Emmy who lost her beloved Hero today, very unexpectedly. I mentioned Hero in my last blip on the 7th, having watched them compete at Crufts. Hero got terribly sick on their way home from England to Denmark. All who know and love them are grieving along with her. Please pray for Emmy as she adjusts to the loss of Hero. And for Biscuit and Gollum, Hero’s ‘pack’.

Another tribute here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.