A true Hero

It seems there might be a reason why Hero didn't perform his best at Crufts.

We left Crufts soon after the competition and drove to Harwich. It took 3 hours.

We took the dogs out for a wee. Hero seemed a bit uncomfortable, but I wasn't too worried.

Bodil and I went into Morrison's to use the toilet. When we came back, Hero was very unsettled in his crate. I took him out and he had gotten so much worse in those 15 minutes.

He seemed to be in severe pain. We found an emergency vet and went there. VetNow cannot  be recommended!!!!

The vet heard he had thrown up his dinner and concluded that he had picked up a bug at Crufts. She gave pain killers and send us on.

Hero slept in the car on the ferry and didn't look too bad, when I came down in the morning, but as soon as I saw him out of the car, I realised that it was bad! He was in so much pain.

We spent an hour trying to find a vet in Holland,  who would see us. I can highly recommend HUGO in Amsterdam.

Hero was seen to as soon as we arrived and they took us very seriously. Hero has an ultrasound scan and they found a hernia, which made it impossible for him to pee and poo. No wonder he was in pain. He hadn't been able to 'go' for almost 20 hours!

They emptied his blatter and the vet consulted an expert. They gave Hero pain medication to keep him comfortable for 24 hours,  put a tube up, so I can empty his blatter and gave him penicillin to prevent an infection of the bladder. When they were sure all was ok, they allowed us to travel home.

Hero was such a hero through everything. A lot of uncomfortable procedures are he just accepted it. I am so proud of my boy.

Hero is booked in for an operation tomorrow morning at 8.30. Keep him in you prayers please.

We are now 100 km from the ferry to Denmark.

See you tomorrow
Emmy and the Hazyland boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.