MONO MONDAY - DELIBERATE

Deliberate : verb - to think carefully  - to do something at a slow and measured pace

I think it’s fair to say that Mr. HCB does most things at a “slow and measured pace” - in fact, quite the opposite to me, who generally goes at things “like a bull at a gate”!  You get the idea - opposites attract and in our case it is very true.

When I realised the challenge for Mono Monday was “deliberate”, I immediately thought of the verb and wondered if I could get Mr. HCB to pose like “The Thinker” by Rodin, but knew that was a step too far so didn’t even mention it to him!

So here he is, sitting in the Parker Knoll chair we bought for his Mother a few months before she died, and which he claims as his own, doing a sudoku puzzle.  When questioned, he told me he does about three every day whereas I am fortunate if I can get one done in a month!  He is better with numbers and I am better with words - there it is again, opposites attracting.

Today has not been a particularly busy day for me - I felt quite tired this morning after a massive coughing fit in the night, so slept until about 10.00 a.m. and have done nothing much, except be a couch potato, knitting another pair of gloves and watching a film that I recorded, “Night Train to Lisbon”.  It was a very enjoyable film, with no bad language, and minimal sex and violence - in other words, a treat to watch - not like some of the stuff on TV these days where every other word is an expletive.

This is one of the quotes from the film, which resonated with me:

“When we talk about ourselves, 
     about others, 
          or simply about things, 
we want - it could be said -
     to reveal ourselves in our words: 
          we want to show what we think and feel. 
We let others have a glimpse into our soul.”
Pascal Mercier : Night Train to Lisbon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.