Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

A Change for the Better?

We've been gardening today - not before time. There's a lot of pruning to do, before the shrubs really get into growth. This one is almost in full bloom. 

About ten years ago I planted a white flowering currant, thinking it would be more elegant than the common-or-garden pink or red.  It grew, but never flourished, and then it went into a decline for a few seasons before I finally put it out of its misery.  

Just before I dug it up, I noticed another flowering currant sprouting a foot or so from the first one.  I assume the white one was grafted, and this is the rootstock which has taken over. It's already bigger than its sickly offspring ever was.  

And of course, it's pink.  And I have to admit, I like it. Apart from the scent, which is a bit like the pong the cats make when they are marking their territory. 

But I'm not complaining, I wish all the plants I kill would replace themselves so readily.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.