Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

A visit to the Zoo

My first one on the new mobility scooter. The zoo is on Castle Hill, and there are some steep paths, some places where there are only steps, and the surfaces are often quite uneven. I rally needed an all-terrain scooter! It was also VERY cold, and by the end of the 2 hour visit my fingers were frozen, and I had great difficult pressing the shutter release and operating the controls on the scooter. It took quite a while to thaw out when I got home. The cold weather also meant that some of the animals were staying indoors.

I don't often photograph cats, but the main image is of a lynx, which was doing nothing other than sleep. The meerkats were as photogenic as ever, and the other photo is a lorikeet - as soon as I entered the enclosure one landed on my head and another on my shoulder. It was warmer in there, but I had to leave the scooter outside, and as the exit is on the other side of the building I then had to walk back round the outside to the entrance to get to the scooter, which was a considerable struggle.

On the way out the automatic doors of the entrance building closed on me and my scooter, giving my knee quite a hard knock! An enjoyable visit, but I won't go again until the weather is warmer.

I'll put a few more photos on my blog web site.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.