atoll

By atoll

The Cockle of My Heart

Let MrsB never complain again that I don't know how to show her a good time in this, the latest episode of our ongoing hunter-gathering series. This is a picture taken whilst we were both scouring the very low tide tonight for Razor Clams at Anglesey's Blue Flag rated beach at Red Wharf Bay. The weather was not quite freezing, but it was raining, foggy and err, well, dark. Did my faithful Girl Friday ever complain? Not for one minute (honestly!) Bless.

By 5:30 pm the tide was predicted at only 0.6m above the datum level (not as low as it can go, but low enough to expose the top extent of the clam beds). I had an idea of getting just enough of these to cook for our New Years Eve Party Paella planned down here.

Only problem was, in my eagerness to drag MrsB here, and to also allow time to nip for a couple of early door drinks at the Ye Olde Bull Inne next door before tea, we had arrived an hour and a half too early - oops.

Net result, before my torch batteries finally ran out was only one Whelk and two very large cockles (Not sure if these are some different species like Atlantic Giant Cockles, as they were huge at about 3 inches across). So, take a bow in the spotlight Mr and Mrs Cockle combined (they are hermaphrodite it seems).

Friday had seen us nip down early to Beaumaris to see my accountant and discuss my end of year accounts. By accident, we stumbled upon a day when a combination of extreme Spring Tides and a onshore wind put the town in danger of flooding.

The place was filled with police, coastguard, flood defence officers and firemen. I don't think I have ever seen this sleepy place quite so animated, even in the summer.

Long story short, the high tide was literally touching the underside of Beaumaris Pier by 11am. So bad, my accountant had to interrupt our meeting and get her car shifted.

Postscript: I have read that the Magna Carta grants every citizen the right to collect up to eight pounds of cockles from the foreshore. Any more than that and you are deemed to be engaging in commercial fishing and are required to obtain a permit. I think we are OK for now, and anyway, I have eaten all the evidence. And very tasty they were too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.