Too Tough to Die

I stopped in Tombstone today on my way to Bisbee. Tombstone's known as the Town Too Tough to Die. It was founded in 1879. When you think of the Wild West -- gunfights, saloon brawls, the Bird Cage Theatre -- Tombstone is what you're imagining. It was really like in the movies.

These four gentlemen pose for photographs outside the O.K. Corral before taking part in a re-enactment of the shootout. Yes, that actually happened.

Tombstone was only a quick stop on my final trip while living in Arizona. I drove to Bisbee, which is about half an hour past Tombstone. I'd been to Tombstone before but not Bisbee. This town is similar to Jerome but bigger and has more cool, old buildings (see extras).

Next to Bisbee is Warren, which is home to the Warren Ballpark, the oldest baseball stadium in the country. It opened in 1909 and was the site of a famous and important deportation in 1917. Miners went on strike, and their owner, the Phelps Dodge Corp., rounded up them, their supporters and bystanders in the ballpark and shipped 1,300 of them 200 miles to New Mexico. It was illegal and dangerous. Read about it here.

After the towns, I drove back north with a quick stop in Tucson to see my grandpa. I surprised him, which was fun. We talked at his house for about two hours, then I drove home. I am going to miss having him so close.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.