Industrial Symphony No.1

I had lots of ideas for what image to use with today's entry in my Sony Walkman Countdown. A cup of coffee? Boring. A glass of orange juice? Only slightly less boring. A log? A nightingale? Difficult to find in Japan. A cherry pie? Even more difficult to find than a nightingale. In the end, I decided to go for a 22 kilometers run and realised I could blip this. 

At No.14 in my Sony Walkman Countdown is Angelo Badalamenti, with 38 songs. I use the term "genius" sparingly, but I think it could well apply to the Bad Angel. His music is inextricably tied to the work of another genius, the auteur David Lynch. One plus one does not always equal three when geniuses work together, but with these two it certainly does. Both artists manage to distill the essence of both nightmares and dreams and unite them in visions that somehow manage to be disturbing, haunting and beautiful at the same time.

Only genius could explain something as beautiful as Mysteries Of Love or as haunting as Laura Palmer's Theme. How do they do it? It's easy. Just watch as Angelo Badalamenti explains. Easy, right?

Now, put it all together and you have a masterpiece of theatre called Industrial Symphony 1.

Sweet nightmares, everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.