Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

When the world gets even crazier

You may want to put the kettle on before you read this.  

Some things to keep me remembering the happy days on the Gromit trail and our day in Tenby last year.  The lovely necklace was my wedding anniversary present from Mr T

Yesterday Mr T was moved to s short stay ward expected to stay in for a night or two.  I needed to go home to get his CPAP machine (for his sleep apnoea) and Mum and Dad kindly picked me up just after 3pm.  Mr T had been due to go for the ultrasound scan on his liver at 11:00 but no one had told him he needed to be nil by mouth for 4 hours before hand.  I think this was because they might have been doing a camera inspection down his windpipe.  Anyway, I left him fairly well, and although they hadn't ruled out anything cardiac they were focusing on his abnormal liver function results.

The hospital had been great, and I had been given a carers pass so I can use the staff restaurant to get hot food, and also park for free.  I am not a fan on lifts so I took the stairs and I hadn't taken my asthma inhaler since Monday morning so I was a little bit out of breath.  When I went back to the ward they had been cleaning and the "bleach" solution started an asthma attack, which had mostly settled when I left to go home.

I wasn't sure if the hospital would let me stay but in case they said yes I had a quick shower, sorted some things out to take with me and then just as I went upstairs to do the last preparations I got out of breath and wheezy.  I managed to get down, get my inhaler but it got harder to breathe and the worst attack I have had.  I rung Dad and he could barely understand me but managed to ring 999.  The ambulance crew were dispatched and then I had to hang up and someone from the call centre phoned me and tried to keep me calm.  Dad arrived and he really helped until the paramedics arrived,  They put me on a salbutamol nebuliser but as my whole chest was wheezy and brittle asthma is one of their red flags they took me to A&E.  SO back into the queue to be booked in and in front was one of the paramedics who had taken Mr T in the night before.  He recognised me and looked after me as the other paramedics should already have finished their shift.

Do you believe in co-incidences?  While all this was going on the hospital had tried to ring me as Mr T had taken very poorly during the camera work and then back on the ward had gone into septic shock.  They moved him to the acute medical unit and gave him antibiotics, and were seeing if he might need to go into intensive care.  No phone calls overnight so I will be off to the hospital to see him very shortly.  I take no calls as a good sign.

I have to say thank you to every one for all your stars, hearts and best wishes and sorry I haven't replied or commented.  Your support has been so appreciated over the last few months.  I have been in a very bad place and over the last two weeks I have been diagnosed with chronic stress, anxiety and depression.  Blip has been a live saver, even if some days I haven't really felt like taking photos.

I told you it was a long one!  Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.