White on blues?

This was done with a photo of tiles in the bathroom!  It evokes for me the first abstract painting I was aware of seeing.  I must have been around 10 yers old and we visited the Tate - near the houses of Parliament in London.  As you walked in you were in a huge hall with this enormous painting - I was little! - three horizontal bands of colour, the bottom two more or less the same colour.  My mother and my aunt were not impressed!  I remember looking at it and wondering why this was up there and couldn't anyone do something like that!  With a bit of research this morning I suspect the painting might have been Mark Rothko's: Red over Black.  

Later it was work by Picasso (e.g.Guernica with so much meaning) that attracted my attention and of course Salvador Dali and Piet Mondrian.  Now I love anything a bit quirky involving bright colours and interesting shapes.  I like abstraction like Henri Matisse: The snail. Aboriginal art is wonderful with all it's hidden messages about waterholes and the position of herds and meeting places.   Interactive displays of modern art are great too.  I love seeing what I can make of them using my camera!  So abstract art can mean a lot of different types of art to me!  

Many thanks to Inge for being such a great abstract art host!  It's going to be interesting to see what Abstract conveys to other blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.