Third Eye

By EwelinaS

Sleepers that save a dollar.

People sleeping in the Dubai airport, something I wouldn't have minded doing to save some money. They have special chairs aligned all around the main duty free walkway. It was an extremely busy airport so I'm guessing there must be a lot of over night transit passengers.

Had a quick breakfast at Starbucks, everything seems to come in x-tra large, even the croissant - they were the size of my head, not that i measured...

Flight numero deux: Dubai - H0 Chi Minh 6 hours. Passed a lot quicker than the first one. Food was also pretty good; tried Mutton for the first time, I guess it's not that much different to lamb but still yums.

Landed and went straight through the passport control (tip: get your visa beforehand, at least 3/4s of the plane was cueing to get one) where the man, hopefully attempting to be funny, insinuated that he wants to kidnap me and keep me here...

Waited over an hour for my luggage woo, then took a taxi towards the hotel. This is when it all hit me. It was the first time I had left the 'airport zone' since Geneva and everything was completely different. First of all lanes merged into one road where cars would zig zag past each other without even thinking about using indicators. Secondly there were 10 times as many scooters as there were cars, they were coming from every side, every road and even off the sidewalk, casually driving in. What first alarmed me was when I saw 4 people on one small scooter but then a little bike appeared on the side with two kids maybe ages 4-8 on them, no helmets or even headlights (this was around 9pm so it was pretty dark) and they just drove into the traffic with smiles on their faces and disappeared into the sea of scooters...

Arrived at the hotel to find my sister, who I haven't seen since I left for university this year, waiting for us. Dropped off our bags and headed to a restaurant at the roof top right next to what seemed like one of the main squares in Ho Chi Minh. The food was quite delicious... although i did find some plastic in my squid, I chose to ignore it. Fuck it I'm in Vietnam.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.