The Daily Record

By havohej

The Charlatans Up to our Hips

The Charlatans 'Up to our Hips' (Beggars Banquet, 1994)

I think I must have seen The Charlatans at least 20 times and I know the majority of the songs from this album because of those almost entirely impeccable live shows. I am much more familiar with the live versions than the recorded ones because this album is one I rarely listen to. There's something about 'Up to our Hips' which is lacking; it's missing some 'oomph' if you know what I mean? The excellent rhythm section, and they are pretty much untouchable live as anybody who has witnessed 'Sproston Green' will testify, seem subdued and Tim Burgess' performance is as inoffensive as you can get.

There are still unmistakable grooves, 'Feel Flows' is like a Beastie Boys outtake and the title track is a slinky masterpiece. There are also brilliant singles 'Can't get out of Bed', 'Jesus Hairdo' and 'I never want and easy life if me and he were ever to get there', but overall, like most of their catalogue, these songs are best when seen live and surrounded by their almost evangelical fans.

Few people agree with me, but The Charlatans are one of the greatest stoner rock bands. When they nail it live they would easily wipe the floor with the likes of the tedious Clutch and the reprehensible Queens of the Stone Age. They're also far cooler than those bands. Did Clutch record an album whilst their keyboardist was in jail for armed robbery? Didn't think so!

In his excellent and very funny memoir, 'Telling Stories', Tim Burgess endeared himself even more to me by revealing that he is almost as nerdy about records as I am and he loves bands like the U.K. Subs and Discharge. When I met him at a book signing I surreptitiously forced my way to the front of the queue by pretending I was going to toilet and presented him with In Decades Decline and the Process records. He signed his book and commented 'Thanks for the records!', which is class.

In the book he bemoans the compromise the band made when using models to try and recreate a classic Lewis Morely photograph for the front cover. Much to Burgess' chagrin the only thing that resembled the original photograph was the fact that there are two people in it! He states that 'To this day the sleeve is a regret' and that 'You can see it niggles me just writing about it.'

He signed my copy of the LP addressing his main criticisms - 'Weird Jumper, take your shirt off!'

I hope he enjoys the records I gave him.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.