The Daily Record

By havohej

The Chieftains 5

The Chieftains '5' (CBS, 1975)

This was picked up in a random goody bag at the Oxfam on Byers Road. Byers Road used to be excellent for record shopping, but it's now sadly depleted with Danny and I forced to trudge through charity shops nursing Hurts induced hangovers and walking away with stuff like this.

The Chieftains are obviously masters of their craft and '5' sounds surprisingly dynamic. I'm not a huge aficionado of traditional music, but this would be brilliant experienced live in a 'The Slaughtered Lamb' style scenario after a few pints of the Black Stuff.

There is a distinct soundtrack feel about a lot of the tracks and they would be well suited to period dramas right through to horror movies. Some of the build ups and galloping reels actually put me a bit on edge reminding me of everything from 'The Wickerman' and 'Kill List' to the claustrophobic wrongness of 'Ravenous' or 'Southern Comfort'.

I wonder how many other people listen to this band and imagine nothing else but witnessing some kind of Lovecraftian bastardisation of 'Tam o' Shanter'? Maybe it's just me?

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.