flavia13

By flavia13

THAT'S PUT A DENT IN IT

Hello all

I decided to jump in the car and see where it lead me today.  I ended up in the Yorkshire Dales in the lovely village of Dent. A couple of photos in the extras of the village.

I ended up going via Barbon, forgetting that it was narrow and very twisty and turny but so beautiful.  So much water about, but the roads were all passable.  I wish now I'd stopped en route to take photos of the scenery but I will go back, when not on my own to do that and when the weather is a bit better.  

I wanted to go out with the camera today and the wide angle lens, which I don't really use.  It proves I need to practice more with it, but the results here aren't too bad.

Going to Dent reminded me of many years ago, when we still had Dad.  Hubby and I used to visit about 3 times a year and always had to visit Dent at least once.  On the day I'm remembering the weather had been atrocious and we were driving near Dent going up a narrow road when all of a sudden a dry stone wall ahead of us popped, due to the sheer pressure of water behind it and a mini tidal wave came flowing down the hill towards us. I was driving in our little Allegro but thank's to my Dad who talked me right through it and advised where to go we got through it!!!  I was just hoping the same wasn't going to happen today when on my own - it didn't.

Anyway called into the Stone Cross cafe for coffee and homemade fruit cake, got chatting to the new owner (since 2017) who used to be a professional landscape photographer and he gave me some tips on getting the cobbled streets - a couple of which you can see in extras..

I was surprised to see that there really are no shops left in Dent now, just the one on the green, which is a huge shame ''cos the few they had were terrific.  

I then round the little Dent Heritage Centre, which is crammed full of old farming memorabilia, as well as other things.  Too many things for such a small museum really, but it was quite interesting.

Then headed home, stopping at The Mad Hatter's Tea Shop for a very light lunch.

Hope you all had a lovely day.

Have had computer problems today for some reason, which is why I'm adding this so late.  Hope it's better tomorrow.  Will catch up on all your blips either later or tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.