flavia13

By flavia13

IT'S RAINING IT'S POURING THE OLD MAN IS SNORING

You know the saying, very applicable for today I think.  This is Yew Tree Tarn (I think) just outside Coniston on the main road to Ambleside.  It was definitely raining and pouring as I took the photo (I've tried to capture the raindrops, I think they've come out a little) and of course we were almost overlooked by the Old Man of Conistonm hence the saying popping into my head!!!??

More computer issues today.  Can at least use it though.  Have left a message for someone called Innovation Computers to get them to look at it for me, but waiting to hear from them.  Hope they are good.

Not a bad day today, but not what we planned. I did think of going over to Arnside, going up the Knott or finding a nice walk but Hubby said he needed to go to Hayes Garden Centre, so we went to Ambelside instead.  Stopped off at Hayes for Hubby to get some sort of mulchy stuff for the garden and a coffee.  Then headed into Ambleside itself, thinking we would go for a walk there.  As we parked though it started raining quite hard with some sleet in it, so decided against it.  Had a stroll  around Ambleside, sadly the Park is closed, but just meandered around a bit of window shopping and popped into the Tourist Information to get some maps and leaflets for future walks and visitors.  Then had lunch at Mr H's cafe (themes of bowler hats and Mr Ben everywhere) just for a sandwich.  Very nice.

Then as it was hailing quite hard decided we would go for a nice drive to Coniston and head home that way.  This is when went past Yew Tree Tarn (anyone local please advise if I've got that wrong), which was looking lovely even in the rain.  I've converted it to black and white for dramatic effect - do you think that works.  I've included the colour version in extras.  

Loads of temporary lakes and rivers bursting their banks everyone but roads were all OK.

Once we got back into Grange the roads were becoming drier and we don't think it had rained here all day.  Wish we had gone to Arnside now, oh well another day.

Tomorrow I will be visiting friends at The Midland Hotel in Morecambe who have come up from Northampton, so may be late in blipping.  Hoping I will be able to get to and from inbetween the wind and rain OK!!

Have a great day, stay safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.