MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Phipps Wreath

Tonight I attended a lecture hosted by the Green Building Alliance. David Orr spoke about a LOT of different things at the Phipps Conservatory, but the most exciting parts of the evening had to be catching the sunset on the new Center for Sustainable Landscapes- a yet unopened net-zero energy, net-zero water structure on which I've done a bit of research (a life cycle assessment- publication pending!) I was also able to check out Phipps at night and it was the winter flower show. The hallway leading to the orchid room was filled with doorways and wreaths. This one thrilled me- a driftwood wreath! How awesome!

But the most interesting part of the night was speaking with their first lecturer, Molly Steinwald, who works at Phipps and is getting her PhD. She had lots of great advice on advancing my photography "career" so you might see a new website coming up for all my best photos!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.