A home at the edge of the world

What a week!! Non-stop excitement at school culminating in the Christmas plays (all good), and a very enjoyable knees up for the teachers afterwards. The ladies' book club bash has also occured and yesterday we had an early Christmas dinner for friends who will be away at Christmas, including Earthdreamery and TJ . Vast quantities of nut roast, trifle, mincetart and a Caribbean Christmas cake (rum and bananas) were eaten. All delicious. And a lot of hilarious chat.
I think I was over-excited for I found myself at 2am this morning wandering out into the boreen gazing upwards to see if I could spot the geminid meteor shower. It was very clear and I saw one shooting star but that was it.

A  relaxingish day today and I headed off to Schull for a bit of shopping. All very civilised and no sign of any shopping frenzies. I made a return visit to this house on the way back. This is the one that had the rosary . It exudes a calm and warmth and I feel it was much loved at one point. One thing that was very poignant, I found a Christmas shopping list, written in an elderly hand including the usual things. What made it even more personal was the photo on top. Oddly this photo was tucked into a  picture last time I went. I've put some more images up here if you fancy having a peek, including the letter but I will remove that shortly as I feel a bit odd including the photo.

All of this is very trivial compared to what has happened in America but  I have no adequate words for that. That would have been our entire school wiped out. You can't help but see the faces of the children.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.