Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A rose by any other name

It was good to have a quieter day at home today. It's still blowing outside and I am fed up with this wind. Too windy for outdoor photos of flowers so luckily I had these beautiful pink roses in a vase. I wanted to capture their pillowy lusciousness before they faded. 

I have been having a giggle every time I think of it - as a governor of the school, Gavin has to shadow a boy all day today going to all his classes, music lessons and even have lunch with him. Some of the classes are with Thomas' teachers so I put in a special request that he does not fall asleep in maths! 

Tonight we are going to a concert performed by the school's symphony orchestra. It's a highly anticipated concert as the orchestra are performing the full suite of Holst's The Planets. It was especially chosen to tie in with the opening of the schools new science block next week. This will be the second to last symphony concert that Thomas will ever participate in, and I feel so sad about that. I remember at Luke's final symphony concert I was in tears!

Next week I am going back to Scotland, accompanied by Gavin, to visit the Glencoe area for a few days. By coincidence David (RockArea) will be on a photo workshop in the same area so we will meet one night for supper.

Shocking news about the tragedy in New Zealand. Not something I would expect in such a seemingly peaceful and quiet part of the world, but I suppose evil terrorists exist everywhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.