Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A walking tour of Bermondsey

Today I had my last arts society event of the term, a walking tour of Bermondsey with a visit to the Old Operating Theatre. The forecast was for rain for most of the day :(

I was up early, I walked Murdoch and by the time I had walked to the station to get my train my knee was very painful. I had done my stretching exercises, used the roller and iced my knee before leaving but it did not help the pain. On my way to meet the guide I was thinking about not joining the group, as my knee was so painful. Instead I popped into Boots and bought some Nurofen which did help ease the pain.

The Bermondsey area is very interesting, once a marshy area that even the Romans did not want to settle in - it has a long history of being the home of the tanning and leather industry. Today it is dominated by The Shard (see extra) and the newly renovated London Bridge Station. It was raining and extremely windy as we set off, but this soon cleared and we had beautiful sunshine all day, which was quite unexpected.

We had a break for lunch when I wandered around the corner to More Place where I took my image for this blip. Sadly they have filled in the narrow water channel (known as The Rill) due to health and safety regulations as people talking on their phones did not watch where they were going and had tripped and fallen in it! 

After lunch we visited the Old Operating Theatre and had a fascinating talk about surgery in Victorian times. I was rather glad to come home and put my knee up and ice it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.