We are only different on the outside.

Dear Diary,

Sometimes a photographic metaphor just begs to be explored.  This is a bowl of eggs on my kitchen counter.  Eggs have different shell colors based on the breed of chicken that laid it.  Crack them open and they are all the same, orange yolks and whites.  No difference.  I've always felt if people could realize that human beings are like that too we would be a lot better off.

I was interviewed on Thursday by a high schooler doing a project for graduation.  She asked me what all my travels had taught me and I said that people all around the world all want the same thing, to care for their children, live their lives in peace and worship their god.  Don't let a few bad people change your view of humanity.

I posted this quote from Anne Frank three days ago on what would have been her 90th birthday.  I think it is still appropriate for today's world:
“In spite of everything I still believe that people are really good at heart. I simply can’t build up my hopes on a foundation consisting of confusion, misery, and death. I see the world gradually being turned into a wilderness, I hear the ever approaching thunder, which will destroy us too, I can feel the sufferings of millions and yet, if I look up into the heavens, I think that it will all come right, that this cruelty too will end, and that peace and tranquility will return again.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.