Glasgow reflections

The day started well with a train ride to Glasgow with LyndseyJ and her fellow PhD student Katherine. At our final destination on St Vincent Street we met our colleagues Laura, Colin and Pete, PhD graduate John, and many other academics, PhD students and policy makers. We were all gathered for a half day conference on collaborative research.

I was a very proud supervisor when John gave a speech in the main auditorium and LyndseyJ led a breakout talk. Best of all, LyndseyJ won second prize in the poster competition for her work on workplace learning and innovation. (For more about this, please see Lyndsey's review of the event on her PhD blog.)

My blip shows the venue for today's event reflected in the windows of the buildings opposite (on the right).

On my return to Edinburgh I started to feel rather unwell, and wished that I hadn't agreed to go out again this evening to a lecture by Steve Jones. However, with hankies stuffed into all pockets, I bravely trekked up the road to George Square with Mr hazelh. The lecture was superb. It was just a pity that I was struggling so much with a runny nose during the talk. We're sleeping apart (again) tonight...

Exercise today: walking (18,290 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.