Dobie & Son Ltd incorporating AC Wood & Son

<Drum roll>She dressed! She went outside! She walked over 6000 steps!</drum roll>

I had reason to go out today because this morning I was a little concerned at the spread of my rather spectacular bruise, which now covers about a third of my left breast, and makes it look like an enormous, swollen, over-ripe plum*. I rang my GP practice at 09:15 and turned up for an appointment an hour later. Here I was assured that all is in order, and told that I shouldn't be shocked if the bruise develops even further.

On the way back to my house I photographed this sign on Fettes Row. Mr hazelh remarked that he had never seen it before, and I admitted that I only spotted it for the first time when I did the same walk to the surgery on 15th February. We are both wondering if we have been completely unobservant for the past 26+ years, or whether the sign has only recently been fixed to this basement wall.

The rest of the day I have been mainly horizontal watching episodes of Breaking bad, reading, and providing updates on my progress by telephone, email and text to various well-wishers. I also had a visitor: Véronique.

I finished the book that I started yesterday. I was rather disappointed that the 'unpredictable' ending was not as advertised. I was also a little irritated when it appeared that the author was poking fun at the main character (although, admittedly, this may have been my interpretation of the text rather than the author's intention).

Here's hoping that the next book suits me better. Rather than flowers, I asked family and close friends to send me novels to cheer me up, and I now have quite a collection. The one that arrived from the Isle of Man this morning is bound to keep me busy at 774 pages of densely printed text. It is The frozen heart by Almudena Grandes. I will start it this evening... 

*I had considered posting a shot of it as an extra, but I fear that it would not be appreciated by readers of my journal!

Exercise today: post-surgery exercises and walking (6161 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.