Oats

I was going to blip something like CJ (who I notice has a blip-snap with Mr T!) but since I was making oatcakes again I thought I should blip them to remind me to write down the recipe for Digitaldaze.

Mix 4 oz oatmeal with 1/2 T oil/melted butter, salt and 4T hot water. Squodge* it together really fast. Roll out as thinly as you can on a floured board and cut into shapes. Bake for about 20 min at 180 deg C. The blip shows the full amount I got out of the recipe, including the ragged-y bits!

N.B: I only quote ounces because it's easy to remember the 4s! You can use fine/medium oatmeal - the only type I haven't tried yet is pinhead. The above mentioned Mr T even made some super delicious ones using rolled porridge oats. Oh, and you can bake them on a griddle, but I've yet to try that.....

* squodge - I may have invented this term. I'm bet there's a technical term for it in the Gaelic. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.