and through the wire...

By hesscat

Oh! Calcutta Cup!

I took a photo of this blip 6 hours earlier and it was all white but the rain soon reduced it to 2 splodges.

A lazy day watching F1 and then catching the England vs Scotland game about 15 mins in, which led to the usual feeling of despair as the points racked up - Scotland supporters are generally used to that feeling, until a late try in the 1st half reassured me the granny was off... I think it was around 29-7... doomed!

I then went to make a phone call and returned to the TV maybe 30 mins later and was stunned it was 31-31...OMG. As I was still on the phone call I paused it to watch after the call and when I did I was kicking myself I had walked away. 20 minutes of thrilling rugby and then a try and despite being the only one in the house I couldn't refrain from shouting out... 5 mins to go, at least we wouldn't lose it and not unexpectedly England managed to draw the game, but at least we keep the cup.

I have never really played rugby, nor gone to rugby matches, and I do take an interest in 6 nation matches when I can. But after watching (some of) that game I am certain there is no better sporting game. The determination of those players, and yes I include England :-), to keep going when they must already by knackered, the atmosphere in the stadium and the nail-biting action, is just fantastic. And there is probably nothing better than a competitive Scotland/England match.

I guess I need to add a 6 nations game to my bucket list. It has always been bubbling just under. I doubt we'll see a game like that again... the highest scoring match with a draw I heard?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.