Granny Takes A Trip*

We walked to the Grand Weir hide today for a change and met a birder with a tripod over his shoulder who was on his way back. I asked him if he had seen anything interesting. "Nothing other than lots of wind" he said. I was on the lookout for something to shoot to convey how windy it is.

We stood on the raised walkway leading to the hide hoping to spot something from this vantage point. I spotted the wind blowing the water, that usually trickles over Holyfield Weir, back up and into the air. It reminded me of that upside down waterfall in Ireland during Storm Desmond in 2015.  

When I was out with my daughter the other day the high wind was blowing the dew drops right out of my nose. We both recited the following:

Granny

Through every nook and every cranny
The wind blew in on poor old Granny
Around her knees, into each ear
(And up her nose as well, I fear)

All through the night the wind grew worse
It nearly made the vicar curse
The top had fallen off the steeple
Just missing him (and other people)

It blew on man, it blew on beast
It blew on nun, it blew on priest
It blew the wig off Auntie Fanny-

But most of all, it blew on Granny! 

Spike Milligan 

I'm that granny! :) 

*A boutique in Chelsea that opened in 1966. The Purple Gang's song of the same name was banned by the BBC as it contained the word trip. Towards the end of the vid in this piece the shopfront can be seen. I think it depicts Jean Harlow's pop art face. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.