Mr & Mrs x 3

Ollie dog and I saw our pair of goldfinches in their usual place this morning. As we passed the quince tree I heard an unusual call. It was a robin with its beak full of nesting material, another robin was singing close by. I presume they are a pair. The only way to tell the sexes apart is by their behaviour. As can be seen from the ruffled feathers of one of the robins it has been windy again today. While I was shooting the robins I heard the alarm call of a wren. A pair appeared and I got shots of both. Lovely that I've three pairs of birds to watch and shoot during the breeding season.

The sun came out briefly and I shot a mini mining bee on a daisy in the lawn. (Extras) I saw a couple of hoverflies and a butterfly. I'm pleased that the bugs are starting to appear. 

After lunch Ollie and I got caught in a violent hail storm at Parndon. The hail stones really stung my face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.