Learning day by day

By EmmaF

The Lead Fairy

Show day!!!! Carys woke up at 05.30! Excited! Dropped off two small people at the theatre at 09.30. William had a little wobble when he realised that I wasn't staying but immediately S clapped her hands and said "come on children, line up." He did what he was asked, waved bye bye and walked off to backstage with his partner. Carys had already gone in without so much as a backward glance.

I shot off to choose a Christmas tree and then back home for a little rest before heading back to help backstage for the matinee. The minute I arrived backstage William, who had by all accounts been a little star, threw a complete wobbler! Typical. That said once calmed down he headed off back to where the other 'Snowflakes' were sitting and I could get on with fixing hair and drawing on cats whiskers etc.

This is Carys back stage, I couldn't take any during the show because of child protection! Annoying! She was the lead fairy, she brought the little girl's doll to life. She had really quite a big role and she was a superstar. She was also three years younger than the next youngest child who had a principal role.

G&G watched the matinee and enjoyed it. They then headed back up north. I shot home with the kids to stuff some food down them and be back at the theatre in less than an hour. A fair task I can tell you with children who eat as slowly as mine do.

Anyway we made it and signed them back in and made our way into the auditorium. WARNING: I am about to go into exceedingly proud Mummy mode!

Carys was amazing. She is five and she was so professional it was unbelievable. She came on stage on her own, did a dance completely on her own, made the doll come to life and then disappeared. She then appeared a couple of times more through out the show and was composed and wonderful each time.

Then came my little 'nowflake. I think I came close to brusting with pride, if Carys hadn't already made me do that. He fluttered across the stage with little grace but lots of concentration and looked exceedingly cute and very little indeed. Then when they were dancing at the front of the stage he tried really really hard to copy the green fairies who were leading the little ones. Bless him. He reminds me of Carys two years ago, I wonder whether he will be in the next show in two years time.

At the end of the show there were the end of year awards. The awards were split into three categories: Primary school, Secondary school and Adults. The Primary school awards were given out first, Most improved student and the Student of the Year. As S started to talk about the Student of the Year she said lots of wonderful things, which I wish I could remember now, but then she said something along the lines of "I think you will understand why I have awarded it to this little girl, it was a big ask of a five year old to take on the role and dance so much on her own, but I think you'll all agree that the Student of the Year goes to Carys Faulkner" At which point I was trying really hard not to cry.

Both my children were wonderful today. So many of the adults told me how good William was back stage and so many of the parents in the audience told how wonderful they thought Carys was and how cute William was. I am one exceedingly pround Mama tonight. So lucky to have the children I have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.