It's an Elephant Mum

Remember when your child brought art home from school and you had to find a way of finding out what it was without asking directly?  This is my finished limestone sculpture of an elephant.  I wanted it to look square and solid.  Really I did.  Today I liked using the hand drill to make the holes.  I liked using a round chisel  to dig into the  stone to create the lines.  Then I used a small rasp to widen the lines and create angles.  I had better technique with the big rasp to take away areas of stone.  She is sitting in the small garden beside the front entrance.  Above her is the tree the cicadas sing in in Summer.  The ferns will grow around her.  
It is very satisfying to create something with your hands.  
I have not had a chance to catch up with you all but i will do tomorrow.  The news was a hard watch this evening as they gave the background to some of the people killed in Christchurch.  They were from a range of occupations.  Some had been in New Zealand for twenty years.  They came to a new country to forge a new life.  
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.