a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Smiling through the showers

A tiny Scilla smiling through the wind and showers this afternoon. This time a year ago it was snowing - so definitely an improvement in the weather!

A visit to see Dad this morning brings with it a small task.  Dad is in his late 80's and suffering from Parkinson's, so not quite as on top of things as he used to be 10 years ago.  He's still reasonably "with it",  but he doesn't have the ability to focus on tasks for any length of time now and can get confused.  

He's finally asked if I could take over the management of his savings and investments.  Its a job that I knew would come my way one day as I am one of his executors. It is far, far better to be doing it while he is still around to ask questions of, even if he can no longer some of the answers.  

Unfortunately it brings with it an enormous stack of paperwork that has been accumulated over many years and, by my guess, hasn't really been filed properly for probably a good 5 to 10 years.  I had vaguely hoped to have been able to put off the task until I retired from work and had a little more free time, but it is undoubtedly a job needing doing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.