Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Hampton Court Palace

Silly me mentioned to Gavin that it was the Hampton Court Palace Half Marathon on Sunday, so of course he applied for a late registration and there we were this morning, up early to get to the start of the race at Hampton Court Palace. He ran a half marathon last Sunday and I do hope this is not going to become a weekly habit, I don't think they are too good for the body!

After all the rain and horrible weather we have been having lately it was beautifully sunny today - although still quite windy and rather cold. The race is a very popular one as it starts and end at Hampton Court Palace, and today the grounds were open for free access so once I saw him off at the start I spent the morning wandering around the extensive grounds taking photos and enjoying the sunshine.

My blip is of the 'new' part of the palace as viewed from the Privy Garden - although the original Tudor section of the palace was built in 1515, this later section was built by Sir Christopher Wren in the Baroque style in 1689 for William and Mary when they took the throne. It was looking beautiful in the sunshine this morning. I have added an extra of Gavin as he was finishing the race - still smiling - and of the beautiful spring flowers in the gardens.

Now I must go finish my packing for our trip to Glencoe tomorrow - my wellies are already in the suitcase, I think I will be needing those! It's a very early start and probably even earlier for me as I want to wash and dry my hair before we leave the house at 5am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.