A day of two halves.

This morning, in glorious sunshine I went to see friends with their horses on the gallops.

This afternoon, in glorious sunshine, I cycled to the mansion house because I had been asked to take the Lord of the Manor's dog for a walk, whilst he and the good Lady were lording it up in London.

Half way round the square mile walk the heavens opened, monsoon style, the Lord's dog and I got drenched. The good Lady allows me to use the 'Wing kitchen, ( ex servant's quarters) to make a cup of tea, so I did, and I dripped in front of the Rayburn for a while, in the hope the rain would stop. It didn't.

Fortified with a chocolate digestive or three, I fed the dog and settled her in her heated kennel, then sitting on a soggy saddle, cycled back home as the downpour continued.

The final straw was that the dry logs I'd left ready outside the door were virtually floating off down the path. I'm dry now, my clothes aren't. The fire is alight but hissing.

The silver lining, - because there always is one - is my complexion. It has benefited amazingly from the prolonged effects of rain water penetration. I hope the prune-like appearance will have gone by tomorrow when I meet some friends for lunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.