The Name Of This Blipper Is Esper

Another blip about musicians and rankings.

Into single figures now, and at No.9 in my Sony Walkman Countdown with 86 songs is the incomparable Talking Heads. I could probably write pages of text about why Talking Heads were such a great band but no doubt a good many Modern Arts graduates have already done that so I shall just run off a few adjectives that I think encapsulate their brilliance. Intelligent. Eccentric. Weird. Esoteric. Hilarious. Stupid. Wrong. Sublime. Professional. Pop. Raw. Schizophrenic. (Attempts Forrest Gump impersonation), "And that's all I have to say about that.")

I've always loved the cover of the Talking Heads album, More Songs About Buildings And Food. I don't like taking photographs of other people's pictures for Blip (although I have done it twice already in this series) so I decided to have a go at recreating the album cover myself using a selfie. I didn't take 529 photos, though, like artist Jimmy De Sana, but five. Even that took three hours, so heaven only knows how long it took to make that wonderful album cover.

Anyway, I shall link to one of Talking Heads' finest songs at one of the greatest concerts ever, Stop Making Sense.

Naive Melody (This Must Be The Place)

By a strange coincidence, Jimmy De Sana also took many photographs of Debbie Harry and Blondie (yesterday's Blip) also often performed at CBGB's with Talking Heads. I guess the art community is (or was) pretty close-knit in New York.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.