Metamatic

Yesterday I paid homage to Talking Heads' More Songs About Buildings And Food album cover, today I pay homage to John Foxx's Metamatic. That's because John Foxx is at No.8 in my Sony Walkman Countdown with 87 songs.

I will never tire of Metamatic. I still remember seeing John Foxx perform Underpass on Top Of The Pops for the first time. He didn't just look cool, he looked positively icy! He did it again with He's A Liquid and No One Driving. His later albums have a warmer sound and are still amazing, with songs like Europe After The Rain and Dancing Like A Gun being favourites of mine. But it's that cold, metal sound of Metamatic which I love the best.

Whatever happened to that thin John Foxx body shape I used to possess? Time is so cruel.

Trivia - John Foxx has an Honourary Doctorate in Philosophy from Edge Hill University which is where I did my P.G.C.E. He's a lecturer on Graphic Design as well as being a musician, photographer and graphic designer. Clever, charming gentleman he seems.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.