Sonoma Barracks

There are still a lot of well preserved colonial buildings in downtown Sonoma. I have often pictured the mission church, but today's shot os if the servants' quarters in the Sonoma Barracks which were occupied by the Mexican military. We approached this simple adobe brick building from a different angle today and I rather liked the still bare tree next to the building and the interesting sky above it. I put another shot of it in extras. It is another splendid day, weatherwise, and I was eager to get out and revel in it. It took some doing to pry OilMan out of his garden, but he finally agreed to join me and was even quite gracious about it.

I did have an ulterior motive which was to go to a shop which started out in the Barlow but moved to Sonoma when a space opened up that was four times bigger. We live about equidistant between them, but I think Jennifer must be incredibly grateful that she moved out of the Barlow before it became flooded during the atmospheric river events here. It seems as though so many conversations with people I don't see regularly seem to revolve around the latest disaster. 

Jennifer's shop is like a beautiful little art gallery with Finnish glass and textiles, lots of local artists and carefully curated pieces of furniture and jewelry. I didn't buy anything but I was tempted by many things,  particularly a quilt which I could make myself if I could find the right fabric in the right colors. I can also convince myself that even if I did, it would probably wind out costing more that if I just bought it. 

On the way home we stopped off at a new patisserie in Glen Ellen and picked up some tiny tarts for dessert tonight* When we first moved here we became frustrated by hunting for a good place to have coffee in Glen Ellen even though it seems like it should be laden with quaint little cafes.

Now at last it has one, owned and run by a VERY French woman. It was late in the day when we stopped by and she had sold out a lot of things, but the almond croissants will definitely beckon us back soon. There is a lovely little patio in the back which would have been perfect for tea and a pastry but OilMan's pansies, waiting to be planted since Dana and Jim brought them yesterday were calling to him....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.